By: Darrelyn L. Tutt

Susan and Mary were active participants in the same weekly Community Bible Study.
Mary, a staunch Catholic, was thoroughly enjoying and invested in the study until she learned of an omission of certain chapters and books in the protestant Bible, which she regarded as a travesty to her faith.
She discontinued the study.
How and why is the Protestant Bible different from the Catholic Bible?
Excellent question, Susan.
I'll do my level best to answer in a nutshell.
Hmmm ...
Jewish Scripture was translated into Greek for the literary convenience of the Jews who were unfamiliar with the Hebrew text.
The "Septuagint" (LXX) was the result.
"Septuagint" hails from the Greek word meaning "70" which was traditionally ascribed to the seventy-two rabbis which worked on the translation.
Hundreds of years later, in 100 A.D., Jewish rabbis got together again and applied an official "canon of Judaism" which excluded some portions of the Greek Septuagint (15 late Jewish books).
These "late" books were penned between 170 B.C. and 70 A.D.
In the 1500's Protestant leaders followed suit and added an "Apocryphal" section to the Bible, whereby these books were placed and "questionably" preserved and reserved.
In the mid 1800's the Apocrypha was dropped altogether from most Protestant editions.
The Apocrypha books are also called the deuterocanonical books.
The Catholic Old Testaments include:
1st and 2nd Maccabees, Baruch, Tobit, Judith, The Wisdom of Solomon, Sirach (Ecclesiasticus), additions to Esther, and the stories of Susanna, and Bel and the Dragon which are included in the book of Daniel.
Orthodox Old Testaments include these plus:
1st and 2nd Esdras, Prayer of Manasseh, Psalm 151 and 3rd Maccabees.
The word "Apocrypha" is deemed offensive by many Catholics due to its defining:
False. Fictitious. Untrue.
Doubtful of authenticity.

The word "deuterocanonical" hails from the Greek and means "second canon" and is the preferable word choice for translational differences used by Catholics.
 *Protestant, Catholic, and Orthodox New Testaments are identical and contain the same 27 books.